Actions

Teacher quick guide

From Carleton Moodle Docs


In Moodle, a teacher has responsibility for the materials in their own course. They often also manage enrollments and are able to change the layout of the course page. This quick start guide introduces Moodle's features to those with the Teacher role.

Course set up[edit]

A course is a space on a Moodle site where teachers can add learning materials for their students. A teacher may have more than one course and a course may include more than one teacher and more than one group of learners. See the screencast What is a course?.

Carleton simplified CMYK Blue.png
Carleton
feature!

Carleton automatically creates course sites for all courses listed by the Registrar. Instructors and registered students are automatically enrolled, although the instructor can choose to enroll anyone else. This is great for TAs, graders, auditors, co-teachers, visiting lecturers. It is also possible to maintain one course page for two or more sections of the same course. See the page on Course meta link enrollments for more information.

Example of a Moodle course with a Navigation block and Administration block


A course can display its materials in a number of ways or 'formats' for example in weekly sections or (named) topic sections. You can show all the sections at once or just reveal one at a time. See Course settings for more information, or watch the screencast How to lay out your course.

Course sections may be renamed by turning on the editing and clicking the configuration icon underneath the section name. Sections may also be moved by drag and drop and sections added or removed by clicking the + or - underneath the bottom section. See Course homepage for more information.

You can also add elements known as 'blocks' to the right, left or both sides of your central learning area (depending on your theme). For more information see Blocks Remember that blocks do not display when the Moodle Mobile so think carefully about which blocks you really need.

Course enrollment[edit]

Before a learner can access your course, they must first be authenticated on the site using their username and password.

Enrolled users


There are several enrolment methods available to a teacher. Registered students are automatically enrolled in your course. Graders, Student TAs or anyone else sitting in on your course will need to be enrolled manually. This can be done by clicking Enrolled users from the Users link in the Course administration block. This is the Manual enrolment method. Other options can be seen in the Enrolment methods link and include Self enrolment and Guest access.

Note: Guests can only view the course and its resources; they cannot participate in any activities. Therefore, Guest access is NOT recommended for any purpose.


An enrolment key may be set if Self enrolment is enabled so that only students with the key can enter. The screencast Enrolling learners gives more information on course enrolment. If your course looks different, watch this earlier screencast on Enrolling learners .

Grading[edit]

Every course has its own Grader report which can record scores from assignments , quizzes , peer assessment workshops, 'branching' lessons, SCORM activities and LTI learning resources.

The grader report

Other activities such as forums, databases and glossaries can have ratings enabled which will also then be reflected in the gradebook.

Grade items can be manually created from Course administration > Grades > Set up > Categories and items and it is also possible to import and export grades.

Tracking progress[edit]

If completion tracking has been enabled for the site and in Course administration > Edit settings, you can then set completion conditions in activity settings. A checkbox will appear next to the activity and a student may either be allowed to tick it manually, or a tick will display once criteria for that particular activity have been met. This feature can be combined with Course completion so that when certain activities have been completed and/or grades obtained, the course itself is marked complete.

Completion boxes

Badges can also be issued, manually or based on completion criteria to act as a motivator and record of course progress.

Restricting access[edit]

A course can be set to display everything to everyone all the time, or it can be very restrictive, displaying certain items at certain times, to certain groups or based on performance in previous tasks.

Options for restricting access

Course items and sections may be manually hidden using the 'hide' icon when the editing is turned on. If Restrict access has been enabled by the administrator then a Restrict access section will display in each course activity and resource, allowing you to choose how and when this item will be revealed, and whether to hide it completely or show it greyed out with the conditions for access.