Actions

Enrolled users

From Carleton Moodle Docs

The Enrolled users screen shows all participants enrolled in the course with details about their enrolment.

Enrolled users

The Enrolled users screen including last access filter

Enrolled users:

  • Can be assigned to groups
  • Have grades
  • Can submit assignments
  • Are visible in the list of participants
  • Can subscribe to forums
  • Can participate in choices

Only enrolled users are true participants in course.

The enrolled users page Course administration > Users > Enrolled users lists all users enrolled in the course, together with their last access time, roles, groups and enrolment methods.

Roles

To assign an enrolled user a role, click the 'Assign roles' icon AssignRoleIcon.png in the roles column then select the desired role.

To remove a role assignment, click the delete icon (a trashcan) next to the role name.

To add new users to the site, click the Enrol User button in the upper right or lower left. Use the search box to search for a Moodle user and then click the Enroll button to the right of their name to enroll them into the course.

Carleton simplified CMYK Blue.png
Carleton
feature!

In addition to the default roles provided by Moodle, Carleton also has several custom roles.

Role Name Role Description
Student Students generally have fewer privileges within a course.
Student TA Student TAs cannot create activities, but they can create and manage time slots within Scheduler activities created by the teacher. Student TAs can also post and reply to the Announcements, they can also use the Attendance module to take Attendance. Otherwise, Student TAs have the same privileges as students and CANNOT see the gradebook.
Grader Graders have student privileges, but can also grade assignments, quizzes, LTI activities and workshops. Grades CANNOT view the cummulative gradebook.
Course Editor Course Editors can make changes to the courses, but do not have access to the gradebook.
Non-Editing Teacher Non-editing teachers can teach in courses and grade students, but may not alter activities. Non-editing Teachers cannot import content to other course sites.
Teacher Teachers can do anything within a course, including changing the activities and grading students.

Notes:

  1. Only roles which a user is allowed to assign are available to select.

Groups

To add a user to a group (requires at least one group to have been created previously), click the 'Add to group' icon (a plus sign) in the groups column, select the desired group then click the 'Save changes' button.

Enrolling users

See Manual enrolment for two methods of enrolling users.

Searching enrolled users

Searching enrolled users

The search facility allows a teacher to search for specific enrolled users. This is useful when a course has many users enrolled with different methods.

Editing enrolment start and end dates

Enrolment start and end dates for particular users can be edited as follows:

  1. Click the edit icon in the enrolment methods column
  2. Edit dates as required, then click the 'Save changes' button.

See also