Actions

Self enrolment

From Carleton Moodle Docs

(Redirected from 36/en/enrol/self/edit)


Self enrolment is the method whereby users can choose to enrol themselves into a course, either immediately by clicking "enrol me in this course" or by typing in an enrolment key they have been given. The enrolment plugin needs to be enabled by the site admin in enrolment plugins and has to be enabled within the course. The manual enrolment plugin has to be enabled in the same course as well.

Course settings for self enrolment

The Enrollment Methods page can be accessed from the Participants page. Click the Gear icon in the upper right of the Participants page and then choose Enrollment Methods.


Selfenrolment.png


Checking self enrolment is enabled

In a course, go to the Participants page and then click the Gear Icon in the upper right and choose Enrolment methods. On the Enrolment Methods page ensure the "eye" is opened for self enrolment.

ParticipantsEnrolmentMenu.png

Adding an enrolment key to a course

If you wish only a certain group of users to self enrol (and not anyone) then you can set an enrolment key which you then tell them to use when they access the self-enrolment screen. See section 1 of enrolment key for how to do this.

Adding a group enrolment key to a course

If you wish your users to enrol themselves directly into a group in the course then you can set a group enrolment key which you then tell them to use when they access the self-enrolment screen. See section 2 of enrolment key for how to do this.

See also this screencast Group enrolment keys in Moodle 2.0.


The following settings may be changed by clicking the edit (hand/pen) icon to the right of the self-enrolment option in Administration > Course administration > Users > Enrolment methods:

Setting the enrolment period

Tick the "enable" box to the right of Enrolment period and then choose your dates.

Enrolment duration

Set the amount of time a user enrolment is valid, starting with the moment the user enrols themselves. If disabled, the enrolment duration will be unlimited.

Notifying users when their enrolment expires

It is possible also for students and/or teachers to be notified when enrolments expire by selecting either "Enroller only" or "Enroller and enrolled user" from the dropdown "Notify before enrolment expires" and a time in "Notification threshold".

Settings for notifiying users before enrolment expires. Click to enlarge.

Editing individual enrolment times

It is possible to edit the date and hour of an individual's enrolment from Administration>Course administration>Users>Enrolled users by clicking the edit icon in the enrolment methods column for the user in question. This then brings up a screen where the date and time can be modified.

Click the edit icon in the enrolment methods column for the user
Modifying the date and time

Unenrolling students who haven't been active on the course

Choose from the dropdown to the right of "Unenrol inactive after..."

Deciding the maximum number of users in your course

Type the maximum number of users you want in your course in "Max enrolled users". When this limit is reached, nobody will be able to self-enrol. If you leave the number at 0 then there will be no maximum number.

Allowing only cohort members to self-enrol

If you have cohorts set up, then you can restrict self enrolment to particular cohorts by selecting the name of the cohort from the drop down box, A member of the cohort can self-enrol as normal; whereas a non-member gets a message telling them they are not able to self-enrol.

Restricting self enrolment to members of a particular cohort
Message seen by a user not in a cohort who is attempting to self-enrol

Sending a welcome message to new users

If enabled, users receive the following message via email when they self-enrol in a course:

Welcome to {Course name}
If you have not done so already, you should edit your profile page so that we can learn more about you: {link to profile page}

If you want to send a different message, simply type it in the custom welcome message text box.

You can also add other placeholders to your custom message:

User email {$a->email}
User fullname {$a->fullname}

Note: An admin can customise the message for the whole site by editing the welcometocoursetext language string. See Language customisation for further details.

The welcome message email is sent from a user with the role of course contact (as set in Administration > Site administration > Appearance > Courses), normally a teacher. If more than one user has this role, the welcome message email is sent from the first user to be assigned the role.