Actions

Difference between revisions of "Messaging FAQ"

From Carleton Moodle Docs

 
Line 17: Line 17:
 
[[Category:Messaging]]
 
[[Category:Messaging]]
 
[[Category:Moodle 2017-18]]
 
[[Category:Moodle 2017-18]]
 +
[[Category:Moodle 2018-19]]

Latest revision as of 11:48, 12 June 2018

How can messaging be restricted?

To limit messaging to specific users, you can change the site:sendmessage capability for the authenticated user role from allow to not set, then create a new role with site:sendmessage allowed and assign this to selected users in the system context. See the Blogger role for a similar case, where blogging is limited to specific users.

Alternatively, you could create a "Cannot send messages" role with site:sendmessage set to 'prohibit' and then assign this role in the system context to anyone using messaging inappropriately.

How can messaging be disabled completely?

Messaging may be disabled site-wide by unchecking the messaging checkbox in 'Advanced features' in the Site administration.

When is a user considered offline?

By default, users are considered to be offline after 5 minutes of inactivity. This figure may be changed by an administrator in Site administration > Plugins > Blocks > Online users.