Actions

Difference between revisions of "Messaging"

From Carleton Moodle Docs

 
(6 intermediate revisions by 3 users not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
 
{{More features}}
 
{{More features}}
==Private messages==
 
Unless disabled by the administrator (in Advanced features), teachers, students and other users may send and receive private messages via Moodle. This is in addition to receiving [[Notifications|notifications]] about assignments, forum discussions etc. See the screencast [[https://youtu.be/YRZJlOYJ2sk Messages and notifications]] for more information.
 
  
New messages are highlighted with a number in the messaging menu at the top of the screen:
+
Teachers, students and other users may send and receive private messages via Moodle. This is in addition to receiving [[Notifications|notifications]] about assignments, forum discussions etc.
  
[[File:NewMessagingMenu.png|center]]
+
Watch [https://youtu.be/-hycmrpw0xA this] HQ Screencast for more info.
  
''Note that the number reflects the number of people who have sent new messages, and not the actual number of new messages.''
+
*A number at the top of the screen reflects the number of people who have sent new messages.
 +
*Clicking the icon displays the messaging drawer, divided into starred messages, group messages and personal messages.
 +
*Contacts and contact requests may be accessed from the Contacts link.
 +
*A star may be added by clicking the three dots when viewing a message
 +
*From the three dots, messages may be muted, so that email notifications of new messages are no longer sent:
  
Clicking there displays the new messages, along with the option to send a new message (''1 below''), to mark all as read (''2''), to go to their preferences page ''(3)'' to change how messages are received, and ''(4)'' to view all messages.
+
[[File:SmallMuteMessages.png]]
  
[[File:NewMessagingFeatures.png|center|thumb|400px]]
+
*Clicking the cog icon displays privacy settings, notification preferences and the option to press enter to send messages.
  
==Sending messages==
+
[[File:36messagingprivacysettings.png]]
Messages may be sent from a number of locations:
 
#by clicking 'New Message' from the Message menu as in the screenshot above and then searching for a user or course
 
#by clicking the Messages link in the user menu;
 
#by clicking on a user's name or picture in a course, for example from the Participants link or in a forum thread;
 
#from the [[Messages block]] if available.
 
  
When sending messages, the size of the  message box will increase as the message lengthens. Note that to start a new line, you need to press Shift + Enter. (Pressing Enter alone will send the message, which you may not want.)
+
==Personal messaging space==
  
==Adding and messaging contacts==
+
Each user now has their own starred area where they can add draft messages, links and notes for later use:
To add a contact, click their name or picture as in the section Sending messages above:
 
  
[[File:Contacts01.png|thumb|400px|center]]
+
[[File:SmallPersonalSpace.png]]
 
 
#Click the + sign to add them to your contacts.
 
#Click the Message icon to message them directly.
 
Contacts may be accessed from the Contacts link  and then either messaged, blocked or removed.
 
 
 
[[File:ContactMessaging.png|thumb|400px|center]]
 
  
 
==Deleting messages==
 
==Deleting messages==
*Messages may be deleted by clicking the Edit link (''1 below''), selecting a message or messages to delete and then clicking the Delete button under the messages (''2)''.
+
*Messages may be deleted by clicking them, ensuring they are selected (with a visible checkmark) and then clicking the bin/trash can icon at the bottom of the messaging drawer.
 
*Note that messages are only deleted for that particular user, not others involved in the conversation.
 
*Note that messages are only deleted for that particular user, not others involved in the conversation.
 +
*Teachers may delete the messages of others in a group conversation if they are given the capability [[Capabilities/moodle/site:deleteanymessage| moodle/site:deleteanymessage]]
  
[[File:DeletingMessages.png|thumb|400px|center]]
+
[[File:DeleteAnyMessage.png]]
  
==Receiving messages==
+
==Restricting who can message you==
*Along with a visible alert to new messages in the messaging menu, users can  configure how they are notified of new  messages  from their message preferences page accessed from the user menu or the gear icon in the messages menu.
+
*By default when clicking the cog icon, a user has the option to restrict messages to their contacts only or to their contacts and others in their courses.
*If the site is set up with the mobile app, they can enable new message alerts to be sent to their mobile:
+
*However the administrator can enable site wide messaging, thus giving visibility to all users, from a setting in  Site administration > Messaging > Messaging settings
  
[[File:MessagePreferencesUser.png|center|thumb|400px]]
+
==Group messaging==
 +
* A teacher or user with the capability [[Capabilities/moodle/course:creategroupconversations | moodle/course:creategroupconversations]] can enable group messaging when setting up a course group. The group will then appear in the group messaging section of the messaging drawer.
  
 
==Sending a message to selected course participants==
 
==Sending a message to selected course participants==
Line 52: Line 44:
 
# Select participants from the list or use the "Select all" button at the bottom of the list.
 
# Select participants from the list or use the "Select all" button at the bottom of the list.
 
# Choose "Add/send message" from the "With selected users..." drop-down menu.
 
# Choose "Add/send message" from the "With selected users..." drop-down menu.
# Type the message then click the "Preview" button.
 
 
# Assuming you are satisfied with the message, click the "Send" button.
 
# Assuming you are satisfied with the message, click the "Send" button.
  
Line 60: Line 51:
 
*[[Messaging FAQ]]
 
*[[Messaging FAQ]]
  
[[Category:Messaging]]
+
[[Category:Messaging]][[Category:Moodle 2017-18]]
[[Category: Orphaned Page]]
+
[[Category:Moodle 2018-19]][[Category:Moodle 2020-21]]

Latest revision as of 11:19, 18 August 2020

Teachers, students and other users may send and receive private messages via Moodle. This is in addition to receiving notifications about assignments, forum discussions etc.

Watch this HQ Screencast for more info.

  • A number at the top of the screen reflects the number of people who have sent new messages.
  • Clicking the icon displays the messaging drawer, divided into starred messages, group messages and personal messages.
  • Contacts and contact requests may be accessed from the Contacts link.
  • A star may be added by clicking the three dots when viewing a message
  • From the three dots, messages may be muted, so that email notifications of new messages are no longer sent:

SmallMuteMessages.png

  • Clicking the cog icon displays privacy settings, notification preferences and the option to press enter to send messages.

36messagingprivacysettings.png

Personal messaging space

Each user now has their own starred area where they can add draft messages, links and notes for later use:

SmallPersonalSpace.png

Deleting messages

  • Messages may be deleted by clicking them, ensuring they are selected (with a visible checkmark) and then clicking the bin/trash can icon at the bottom of the messaging drawer.
  • Note that messages are only deleted for that particular user, not others involved in the conversation.
  • Teachers may delete the messages of others in a group conversation if they are given the capability moodle/site:deleteanymessage

DeleteAnyMessage.png

Restricting who can message you

  • By default when clicking the cog icon, a user has the option to restrict messages to their contacts only or to their contacts and others in their courses.
  • However the administrator can enable site wide messaging, thus giving visibility to all users, from a setting in Site administration > Messaging > Messaging settings

Group messaging

  • A teacher or user with the capability moodle/course:creategroupconversations can enable group messaging when setting up a course group. The group will then appear in the group messaging section of the messaging drawer.

Sending a message to selected course participants

A teacher can send a message to course participants as follows:

  1. Go to the Participants page.
  2. Select participants from the list or use the "Select all" button at the bottom of the list.
  3. Choose "Add/send message" from the "With selected users..." drop-down menu.
  4. Assuming you are satisfied with the message, click the "Send" button.

See also