Actions

Difference between revisions of "Manual enrolment"

From Carleton Moodle Docs

(Enrolling users)
(Enrolling users)
Line 5: Line 5:
  
 
# Go to the Participants page in the Navigation Drawer on the left side of your course page [[File:M35_Participants.png|none|400px]]
 
# Go to the Participants page in the Navigation Drawer on the left side of your course page [[File:M35_Participants.png|none|400px]]
# Click the 'Enrol users' button at the top right or bottom left of the page [[File:EnrolUsersButton.png|none|450px]]
+
# Click the 'Enrol users' button at the top right or bottom left of the page [[File:M35_EnrolUsersButton.png|none|450px]]
 
# Use the 'Assign roles' dropdown if you wish to change the role.  
 
# Use the 'Assign roles' dropdown if you wish to change the role.  
 
# Click to expand the enrolment options and set them as appropriate. These include the enrolment duration.
 
# Click to expand the enrolment options and set them as appropriate. These include the enrolment duration.
 
# Browse or search for the user (Note that when searching for users, exact matches are listed first)
 
# Browse or search for the user (Note that when searching for users, exact matches are listed first)
 
# Click the Enrol button opposite the user. The user will indent in the list and the enrol button will disappear, indicating that the user is enrolled.
 
# Click the Enrol button opposite the user. The user will indent in the list and the enrol button will disappear, indicating that the user is enrolled.
# When you have finished, click the 'Finish enrolling users' button (or simply close the enrol users box) [[File: EnrolUsersPopup.png|none|400px]]
+
# When you have finished, click the 'Finish enrolling users' button (or simply close the enrol users box) [[File: M35_EnrolUsersWindow.png|none|400px]]
  
 
The user will then appear in the list of enrolled users.  
 
The user will then appear in the list of enrolled users.  

Revision as of 09:48, 31 August 2018

The manual enrolments plugin allows users to be enrolled manually via a link in the course administration settings. The plugin has to be enabled by the site administrator and should normally be enabled as certain other enrolment plugins, such as self enrolment, require it.

Enrolling users

  1. Go to the Participants page in the Navigation Drawer on the left side of your course page
    M35 Participants.png
  2. Click the 'Enrol users' button at the top right or bottom left of the page
    M35 EnrolUsersButton.png
  3. Use the 'Assign roles' dropdown if you wish to change the role.
  4. Click to expand the enrolment options and set them as appropriate. These include the enrolment duration.
  5. Browse or search for the user (Note that when searching for users, exact matches are listed first)
  6. Click the Enrol button opposite the user. The user will indent in the list and the enrol button will disappear, indicating that the user is enrolled.
  7. When you have finished, click the 'Finish enrolling users' button (or simply close the enrol users box)
    M35 EnrolUsersWindow.png

The user will then appear in the list of enrolled users.

Carleton simplified CMYK Blue.png
Carleton
feature!

Students who are unenrolled in a course can be added back in manually at any time. When a student is re-enrolled into a course, all of their previous course data (grades, quiz results, etc) will be restored to the course.

Editing individual enrolment start and end dates

Editing enrolment start and end dates

Enrolment start and end dates may be edited for individual students as follows:

  1. Go to 'Enrolled users' from the gear menu in the nav drawer Participants link (or in Course administration > Users in the Administration block if you are using a theme other than Boost)
  2. Click the edit icon in the enrolment methods column for a particular user.
  3. Edit dates as required, then click the 'Save changes' button.

Course settings

Checking you have manual enrolment in your course

  • In a course, go to 'Enrolment methods' by clicking the gear menu in the nav drawer Participants link (or in Course administration > Users in the Administration block if you are using a theme other than Boost).
  • Make sure Manual enrolments has its "eye" opened.

Manualenrolments.png

Editing manual enrolment settings

Managers (and any other users with the capability enrol/manual:config) can edit the manual enrolment method in the course and set the default enrolment period and default role from the Enrolment methods link.

The manual enrolment screen (Click to enlarge)

It is possible also for students and/or teachers to be notified when enrolments expire by selecting either "Enroller only" or "Enroller and enrolled user" from the dropdown "Notify before enrolment expires" and a time in "Notification threshold".

See also